August 23, 2016, Mile 2541: Near Miss

At a campsite, mile 2541

I said goodbye to the group this morning. What a treat it was to share a campsite with them!

I was the last person out of camp, and I hoped to meet them at Vista Creek 2532. On the way, I spent a few moments playing Ansel Adams.

img_2966
Glacier Peak
img_2967
Old growth blowdown. Check out my three-foot-high trekking poles.

I made it probably 2/3 of the way to Vista Creek, when I hit a tiny bit of scree on the downhill. My left knee bent sharply and my left ankle twisted. And there I lay, knowing that a) I came mighty close to blowing out my knee, and b) my ankle might be sprained.

I lay there for a second, feeling more pissed than hurt, and a fellow hiker came along. He asked if I was okay, and I said yeah, probably, but I’m ticked. He gave me a hand up, and I continued down the hill to Vista Creek.

My ankle was quite sore, so I kept going at a snail’s pace. When I got down to the campsite, I put my foot up, chugged the ibuprofen, and had a bite of lunch. And once that was done, I attempted to walk it off.

At first, I could hardly put weight on it. But I remembered the lessons learned from June, where I’d tweaked my back during a short trip in the North Cascades. I kept walking around the campsite, and it gradually loosened up. Finally, it was at the point where I could put my pack back on, and with extreme gratitude, I headed down the trail.

Shortly after leaving Vista Creek, I hit the new trail. In 2003, that massive storm knocked out the old Suiattle River bridge. The river is unfordable, and without the bridge, hikers crossed on a log…unsafe is too mild a word.

The new bridge was completed in 2011; it is constructed of wood, iron, and bedrock. It had to be positioned 2.5 miles down the trail. The south side required all new trail, while the north side partially incorporated the Suiattle River Trail.  Check out the before and after photos.

Anyway, once I was on the new trail, my blowdown woes ceased. According to a SOBO I met, the trail was clear and mostly blowdown-free until almost at the border. Believe me, I was one happy hiker.

img_2968
My new favorite scent: freshly cut blowdowns. Thank you, trail crews!!!

The new trail also wound its way through a grove of enormous first-growth trees. I grew up in the Northwest, but these are some of the most mammoth trees I’ve ever seen.

img_2970
Again, check out my trekking poles

After crossing the bridge, I looked for the campsites which were supposed to be there, thinking to shorten my day and rest my ankle. The only spot I found was gorgeous, but apparently required rappelling to reach it. As rappelling was not in my hiking bag-o-tricks, I continued to my original campsite at 2541.

Wouldn’t you know, my campsite-mate was Matt, the student from Ohio. Cool! He was busy trying to prepare a dessert given to him by some longer-distance hikers. I pitched in with my stove, and we managed to concoct an apple compote. That works.

While we were cooking, who should come up the trail but the Brit Family Robinson! They’re the mom, dad, and two kids, Pippi Longstocking (age 13) and Captain Obvious (age 10), who were doing the trail this year. I met them at McKenzie Pass and again at Big Lake, in Oregon. We recognized each other, and chatted like long-lost companions. They were doing big miles, to get to Vancouver in time to catch their flight. The kids are supposed to start school the day after they return(!). I wished them well, and they zoomed up the trail.

Footnote: About a week after I was there, the North 350 Blades logged out ten miles south of the new Suiattle trail. Many thanks to these volunteers!

Footnote: The Brit Family Robinson kept a wonderful blog, written by Pippi Longstocking and Captain Obvious…check it out!

Leave a Reply

